Above average 6.0
Based on 38 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 38 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 6.2
  • Service 6.2
  • Value for money 5.8
  • Food and dining 4.9
Sort by

Monika from Australia
Solo travelers
Single Bed in Female only Dormitory Room
Stayed one night in March 2014
Great location, helpful staff
Friendly staff, great location, excellent pool
Had a great stay at the Youth Shack - staff were fantastic, kitchen was huge and there is a great lounge area near the pool. Certainly stay here again!
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Lilli from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Single Bed in Female only Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Darwins best Hostle
friendly stuff, clean rooms, good location
I really enjoyed my stay at the backpackers. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The locations is central and common facilities are clean and comfortable. I enjoyed to lay at the pool as well as having a few drinks(great price) at night at the youth shack bar. I can highly recommend this hostel!!
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stefan from Germany
Solo travelers
Single bed in Co-ed Dormitory room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
nice staff, clean rooms. good one.
staff, bar, pool.
Cool. Was there for 2 days during the rainy season so not much to do. Hostel was nice.
Reviewed January 04, 2014

Brent from Australia
Business travelers
Double Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in September 2013
good stay for the short time I was there!
central, easy access, good bar
I had another good stay at this backpackers! the people where nice enough and the location is central! I would recommend it to the traveller waiting for Darwins red eye express!
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Brent from Australia
Business travelers
Double Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in August 2013
nice stay, good bar, central location
bar, location, people
I had a nice stay, at this backpackers! central location and easy access to the city and night life! I would recommend this place as a good stop over for one or two nights!
Reviewed October 18, 2013

siew from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Single Bed in Female only Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
No Comment
No Comment
Value for the money for a solo travellers. During the check-in lady at the reception no so friendly.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hans from Belgium
Couples
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Worst hostel EVER
There arent good things to say
A very dirty hostel, smelly everywhere, people trowing up in the bathroom, noisy, very arrogant owner a the reception. You have to pay for the key and for each set dishes, deposit your key to get any pans, ... I traveled almost each continent and stayed in a lot of hostels; but this was 100 % sure the WORST hostel I ever stayed in. I really have nothing good to say about it.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

SILA from Australia
Families with young children
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in October 2013
Never again, room was okay but too much noise outs
a bed was there n someone was there to check us in at 1am in the morning
We couldn't sleep coz of the fighting of other patrons, disregarding other guests n slamming of doors. I didn't have a shower as it was dirty, cigarette butts every where n rubbish on the ground n the stench of alcohol n smoke was unbelievable. I will never stay there again
Reviewed October 08, 2013

Alexandra from Australia
Couples
Double Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Working Holiday Visa stomping ground
Pool, Bar, Budget Room
This hostel has a lot of travellers on Working Holiday Visas living here, especially from the UK. There is a bar onsite and it gets really busy. For me, this place was a nightmare - we were in Darwin in transit and did a day trip to Kakadu and really what we were looking for was somewhere we could rest our weary heads and sleep at any hour of the day. Definitely not the right choice - this place is super loud with a 24/7 party vibe. If that IS what you are looking for, then this place is perfect! You'll meet heaps of other travellers, be able to buy your drinks onsite and stumble off to either the nearby clubs or your room with no hassles. The facilities also include a swimming pool, "Job Shack" to assist with finding jobs for travellers, internet access, shared bathrooms and security features. Note that the hostel requests deposits for virtually everything - room keys, cutlery, towels - and they shortchanged us when returning the deposits (or the staff member at the start overcharged us to begin with). This makes the check in and check out process stupidly long and with only two people working and about 10 people trying to check in, it was an ordeal.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

wayne from Australia
Solo travelers
Single bed in Co-ed Dormitory room
Stayed one night in September 2013
GREAT SPOT GREAT LOCATION GREAT VALUE
LOCATION COST PRICE
It is a good location and value for money based on my work type I enjoy staying here each time and recommended it
Reviewed September 28, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: