Book Now: Yudanaka Onsen Shimaya

Excellent
From 130 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 95% of guests

Reviews of Yudanaka Onsen Shimaya Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (130)Booking.com Reviews (198)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities8.4
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service9.4
Value for money8.8
All languages
All guests (130)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 105 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Adam
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Exceptional”

Not a new building but amazingly helpful staff and good location. Walking distance to the train station. Friendly staff dropped us off at the snow monkeys the next day and offered to drive us back if we called. I walked back - 30mins or so, pleasant. Overall would definitely recommend for a one-2 night stay to see the snow monkeys.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
7.2
Very good
Mark
Family with young children
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Very good”

The owner and his wife were very nice and took good care of us. It's a pretty good walk though up a pretty steep hill from the train station. The owner took us to the monkey park, to a restaurant and to the station after our visit. I only wish he had picked us up as well as the hike was tough on my parents. The rooms are interesting with super deep tubs that are hard to step into and a toilet that is separate on the balcony area.

Reviewed March 25, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
steph from Australia
Family with young children
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Fantastic hospitality, great onsens, close to ski fields”

Mr and Mrs Yumoto are as wonderful as hosts as all the other reviews say. Across the road from a small convenience store, 10 min walk to the train and large convenience store. Lots of great restaurants in the area, and 15 minute walk from shibu onsen, which is quaint and beautiful, but fairly deserted. I loved the indoor and outdoor onsens at shimaya, and had them to myself every time (late Feb). I bathed in them at least twice a day. We were in yudanaka to see snow for the first time, and there was still snow around the streets at that time of year. There is a free shuttle bus to Ryuoo ski park, where my daughter and I went tobogganing and tubing and built a snowman. Lots of fun. Would definitely recommend to others. We didn't eat at the ryokan, but it can be arranged, and is apparently very good. It would be nice if there was a bit of a bar there, but no.

Reviewed March 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Douglas from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

The best place to stay in Yudanaka onsen.”

The best place to stay in Yudanaka onsen because of so many things. The location is perfect because it’s only 7 min. walk from the Yudanaka Station so If you just want to rest and relax after a tiring commute around Nagano this place is not too far. Checking in was also a breeze because Mr. Ichiro is right there to greet you as you come in the front door. All the rooms gives you that traditional japanese room feel. They have an in house bathhouses separating male and female but if you guys are a coulple or a group of friends Mr. Ichiro offers a private onsen just a couple minutes walk down from the Hotel for ¥600 yen each for 40 min. And I gotta say the private onsen was definitely worth it because we had it all for ourselves. We went at night so we got some Yudanaka town night lights and starry sky. If you are also thinking of going to the snow monkey park you don’t have to worry about bus schedules going up and going back because all you have to do is mention it to Mr. Ichiro.

Reviewed November 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kelsey from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

A Honeymoon with the Honeymoon”

This places defines the word special. Our stay in Yamanouchi would never have been the same or as memorable if it hadn't been for Shimaya. Our view was absolutely serene from the 4th floor with sunrises and sunsets looking out over the town and mountain tops as far as our eyes could see. The sweetest old man who owns and runs the place is really the heart and soul of Shimaya. His interactions with us just set the charm of this place in stone. I HIGHLY recommend giving Shimaya your business. It has everything you could want, is affordable, and offers an authentic Japanese onset village charm you can't buy. It was magical.

Reviewed February 10, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Rachel from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Beautiful Stay in the Mountains!”

We have a wonderful stay at Shimaya. The owners were so nice and facilitating. The rooms were large and warm and the on-site onsens were clean and beautiful. They even have a private Onsen in the Ryokan! The owner drove us to and picked us up from the Monkey Park even though the roads were incredibly icy and it was blizzarding. He’s a very good driver and we were so thankful for the complimentary shuttle :) ALSO! Highlight of our stay was the private Onsen just a few minutes walk from the Ryokan! The owner of Shimaya got us a reservation for the Onsen at 5pm (sunset) and we got to watch the sun set with a BREATHTAKING view of the mountains and town. Yet we were totally secluded. It was INCREDIBLE. Highly recommend Shimaya!!!!

Reviewed January 31, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Melissa from United States
Group
Japanese Style Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Awesome ”

The hotel owners were very friendly and welcome us even when we arrived late. They gave us a tour of the Onsen and showed us all of the amenities. We requested breakfast in morning and the owner offers to drive us to the Snow Monkey park. We woke up the next morning and went to breakfast and the food was waiting for us. The atmosphere was very charming with the piano and the music playing. The owner dropped us off at snow monkey park and told us to call when we finished and he or his wife would pick us up. After site seeing at the park we called the owner and his wife came to pick us up and drove back to the hotel where she offered to drive us to the train station with our luggage. It was a fantastic place to stay with a wonderful Onsen on-site, great food and the owners were wonderful. Highly recommend staying here if you visit the area.

Reviewed January 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ng from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Medium)
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017

very friend host and clean room ”

very friendly hotel owner and family members. send my family of 5 from train station to hotel. from hotel to snow monkey park. to laundry shop thru and fro, all for free. although speak little English, they tried very best to guide and answer you. room consider quite spacious for 5 person. very clean. definitely a value for mone y stay!

Reviewed December 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sean from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

SO glad I chose this place”

If you're on a budget, and trying to find the cheapest place in Yamanouchi, do yourself a huge favor and spend the extra few bucks and book this place. Mr. Yumoto and his wife are awesome! The hospitality is outstanding. We wish they could adopt us and be our Japanese family. They gave us a ride to Monkey Park and a tour of the town, and we walked back (long walk, but awesome). The rooms are HUGE, and the place is spotless clean. They have access to a private outside onsen, which is awesome, because that means tattoos are okay and a guy and a girl can go together. Super cool. Breakfast was great, and the self-playing piano was a nice touch! It was raining the morning we left, so Mrs. Yumoto gave us a ride to the train station. Not only would I recommend this place, I would live here.

Reviewed October 13, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Attakorn from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Owner is very helpful, feel like home. ”

The ryokan owner was very kind and helpful, he picked up us from the station, drove us to snow monkey park as well as recommended local restaurants which was very good. The ryokan is very clean, I love this ryokan and will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed February 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Samantha from Australia
Family with teens
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

I can't stop coming back!”

Second time I've stayed at Shimaya and would stay a third! Mr Yumoto is very welcoming and will go out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. He will pick you up from Yudanaka Station, drive you to the Snow Monkey Park (and lend you snow boots for free), and drive you back to the station if needed. The Japanese breakfast was delicious, beautifully presented and great value for money. Mr Yumoto even has a book of restaurants with pictures of the type of food available so that you can chose where to go for lunch or dinner if you want to go out. The onsen at Shimaya is very clean and very hot, so make sure to warm your body with the water bit by bit before submerging yourself. The only inconvenience of Shimaya is that there is no elevator for large baggage or wheelchairs as it is not a hotel-style building. This didn't bother me but might be difficult for some. Overall, a wonderful experience!

Reviewed December 19, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Chee from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Excellent stay”

Good location, good value, helpful owner

Yumoto san picked us up at the train station on schedule and made our stay very comfortable. It snowed heavily during our 4 days here and our trips to Jigokudani and Shikagogen were wonderful. The Japanese styled rooms were nice and the onsen was hot! Yumoto san was very helpful. Let us use his snow boots and helped us with transportation. This place is highly recommended.

Reviewed December 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Gary from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Friendly traditional Japanese Ryokan”

Free shuttle to and from train station and also to/from the snow monkey park. Warm, friendly and very accommodating staff. Great breakfast.

Great assistance with getting transported from the train station and then to the snow monkey park. The private onset was a real treat, but it is very hot! The breakfast was good value, with a choice of western or Japanese and accompanied by music from a pianola.

Reviewed March 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Kevin from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Aim to please Ryokan and value for money”

the staff is great, room is comfortable, breakfast/dinner is great

my family had a great stay at the Ryokan-theme hotel. Take the room with private toilet if you are bringing little ones. The food is great and the most attractive part of the stay is that the owner Mr and Mrs Ichiro are unassuming great folks who aim to please. They even lent my kids snow boots and sledges and provide us with ferry to the nearby Snow Monkey Onsen and fetch us from the nearby Lawson when it was too late at night. Should try to stay at least two days the Ryokan-theme hotel.

Reviewed December 18, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Ruari from Ireland
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Fantastic owners make a stay worthwhile”

Friendly owners, location, rooms

Super friendly couple run this hotel. They even drove me to the snow monkey park and back to the station. He also helped me plan the next leg of my trip. Great Japanese style room and I believe western style available too. Short distance to snow monkey park and close to restaurants in Yudanaka. Would recommend to all travellers for a hospitable stay.

Reviewed April 05, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Marlon from Costa Rica
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Japanese Hospitality with a warm onsen!!!”

Traditional tatami bed

Really enjoyed my stay in Shinsyu Yudanaka Onsen Shimaya hotel, is like a guest house but very cozy with home made food. Friendly owner and staff guiding you through your stay here. Very beautiful town full of hotsprings!! definitely worth to come and stay a couple of days, specially if u want to see the snowy monkeys taking a bath inside hotsprings!!!

Reviewed February 13, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Kok from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

lovely ryokan with amazing hosts”

treated like family, warm and relax atmosphere. Mr Yumoto was kind and helpful, his wife was equally friendly. Ryokan was clean and adequate. Good location.

Enjoyed our stay very much and loved the location, close to all interesting places and the station. Good food at ryokan itself and nearby restaurants. Plus the ryokan has onsen that can be used round the clock.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Seok from Singapore
Family with young children
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Medium)
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Very good”

PROs. 2 choice of breakfast. I pick the traditional to try. The pickle vege was nice. Coffee is free serving. Room is 3 futons already laid out for use , a pot of hot water to make your own matcha. Great part is the onsen, quiet but the water is too hot for us to handle. The owner Mr. Yumoto is very helpful and provided info for our next destination.

Reviewed November 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Serena from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Exceptional”

This is my 3rd time staying here. Mr amd Mrs Yumoto are friendly and caring. Mr Yumoto will drive you to the snow monkey park and pick you up again. Great service.

Reviewed January 18, 2019
7.2
Very good
Pee from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Go for the Onsen experience”

Mr & Mrs Yumoto were very friendly & helpful. We were given free ride to a tourist spot nearby as well as the Snow Monkey Park (to & fro), and to the train station as well. Room is clean & very spacious, with tatami & separate bath & toilet. Although it was quite cold at night, the good-quality blanket did keep us warm. We also tried its Onsen which we enjoyed very much. We have no problem recommending this place.

Reviewed February 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Aline from Australia
Couple
Japanese-Style Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

traditional Japanese experience, staff not flexible on schedule ”

Loved the dinner and breakfast - very traditional and delicious. The staff were very helpful with most things, however made it difficult to arrange a day which included snow monkeys and skiing. They told us our plans were impossible. You can leave baggage at the snow monkey park, even though the hotel owners say you can't. You can also take baggage to the mountains and leave at a rental shop (just need to pay minder fees, about 500 yen per bag). And it is possible to fit both snow monkeys and half day ski in one busy day if you're organised. In the end we managed to fit both of these activities in and get back to Tokyo that night. Not trying to be too negative as they were lovely people and run a great business, just couldn't see outside the square with our plans.

Reviewed February 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Laurren from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

HIGHLY reccommend ! ”

Great staff, awesome hospitality. Lovely Onsens, private included for couples / friends and tattoo friendly. It's a lovely and sleepy town. Mr Yumoto drives you to the Monkey Park! And you can opt to be picked up or stroll back through Onsen town. Great Japanese breakfast - and green tea refreshed in the room each day. Highly recommend.

Reviewed December 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Han from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Great host and a neat place in yudanaka.”

The hosts were terrific and we had a wonderful stay. They drove us to the snow monkey mountain and back, gave us maps (and reccomendations) of our next destination before we leave. You can use the outdoor onsen (steps away from the inn) or the one in the facility. We took advantage of both. The outdoor one costs around 600 yen per person.

Reviewed March 08, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
David from Australia
Family with teens
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

Excellent hospitality”

The Yumotos are very helpful and really work hard to ensure that their guests have a pleasant stay in Yudanaka. They provide a lift to the entrance to the Snow Monkey Park, and a pick up later, and will also drop you at the station when you leave. Mrs Yumoto also dropped us to a local restaurant when we were looking for lunch. The accommodation is Japanese style and very homely. They insisted on us wearing the boots they provide when we visited the Snow Monkey Park - it was very muddy even though it was snowing. They have male and female onsen (free) and also a private one which is outside and a short walk from the hotel (costs Y600 per person). We enjoyed experiencing both.

Reviewed December 29, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Luke from Canada
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

loved our stay here”

staff, staff, location

Loved it here. Authentic Ryokan with baths. Also had a private onsen you can book with an amazing view. The people here were so nice, felt like you were staying at a relatives. Just a short walk from yudanaka train station and the free ride to snow monkey park was awesome. I would stay here again.

Reviewed March 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
CHRISTINE from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Nice stay in Yudanaka”

The owners are very helpful and friendly, provided transport to and from the Monkey Park, very close to the train and bus station

The hotel was within walking distance from the train station. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean but basic. WHen we wanted to go see the Snow Monkeys, the hotel provided us with transport to and from the park. AS it was snowing when we checked out, the owners were kind enough to send us to the bus station in their car. There was a convenience store within walking distance and we had our meals in the shops that were near the hotel.

Reviewed January 12, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Danilo from Brazil
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014

Super Ryokan experience ”

Staff, Ryokan experience, Onsen

My stay at Shimaya was excellent. The owner, was super hospitable. He offered to take us to Jogokudani Monkey Park for free and then pick us up. He was also happy to recommend places to visit and to suggest alternative routes to our trip. All ideas were very valuable. Very comfortable room offering a genuine tradicional Japanese Ryokan experience with all comfort that the 21st Century traveller requires, i.e heating, toilet in the room, TV,etc. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed January 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Ben from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Amazing Service!”

Onsen (hot spring) in house, the professionalism and the service of the staff

Incredible hosts. Ichero and his wife bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. He will drive you to the monkey park, train station or Shibu Onsen at a moments notice. Stay here for the service alone. The location isn't ideal for accessing the 9 hot springs at Shibu Onsen, but the in-house onsen and Ichero's private onsen down the block (which he rents out for only 600 Yen) are just as nice as any in the Shibu Onsen area.

Reviewed January 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
choong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

Snow Monkey & Shiga Kogen Shimaya”

Free shuttle return from snow monkey entrance and Yudanaka stations, nice in-house onsen, staffs were attentive and helps you plan your itinerary

ALmost everything mentioned in the reviews are true. Free apples are available everyday just at the entrance, washing machine and microwave at 2nd floor. Onsens need to be tempered with cold water before use. Few restaurants nearby the station I am gonna touch more on the skiing/snowboarding part. Shiga Kogen has more local feel. Hakuba is more like an Aussies town. Shiga Kogen has 90% of skiers compared to snowboarders. Shiga Kogen also has very limited english instructors available. I only manage to find Sugiyama ski school with English instructor. So plan and book ahead. You need to book as private lesson to get the English instructor. Cost is 26000 Yen for 3 hours. From 9am to 12noon. Usually it's enough. I managed to learn up to linking up my turns. By the way, because Shiga Kogen is usually skiers so it's even more difficult to get snowboard instructors. So please plan ahead. Shiga Kogen is a big area. I took advise from Shimaya owner Mr Yumoto to go to Ichinose. Ichinose is a fantastic ski area for all levels especially for beginners. My advise is to go to Ichinose family ski lift for beginners as the slopes is not as steep. Whole day Ichinose lift pass will cover 5 areas of ski lifts which is more than enough. Ski lifts starts at 8am, closes at around 4.20pm. Theres quite a few rental shops around. Usually it's Snowcan. Prices are usually fixed, no bargain. Theres also a nice canteen at Ichinose diamond area. Reasonable price. There are also medium size lockers available just near to the canteen for 200 Yen to keep your belongings. Bus departs from Yudanaka station to Ichinose in selected timings. Ask Mr Yumoto for the timetable. He will fetch you to the station. Cost is 770 Yen one way. On selected buses, you need to transfer at Haisuke but its easy as the transfering bus is just next to it. If unsure just ask the bus driver. They understand English

Reviewed December 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Anna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Friendly ryokan with amazing onsen”

The indoor and outdoor (private) Onsen, the breakfast, the owners who gave me a lift to the monkey park

I stayed just one night at Shimaya. The ryokan was a little old, but in good condition, and was very comfortable. My room was big and light and in Japanese style. I used both the very hot indoor and outdoor Onsen (600 yen extra per hour), which was a little way down the street. Once there, I had an amazing private Onsen with only the moon for company! Amazing! The Japanese breakfast was delicious, and the owners very friendly and helpful. They gave me retaurant advice, picked me up from the station and gave me a lift to the monkey park. All in all great value for money. Recommended.

Reviewed December 03, 2014
8.7
Excellent
sabine from France
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

very nice stay”

staff attention, owner available to drive us around, good-priced breakfast

very relaxing, the owner drove us to see the snow monkeys and advised us on the other attractions in the area. Nice onsite onsen. We only went to this place to see the monkeys and we were not disappointed. They were there bathing.

Reviewed May 03, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Leanne from New Zealand
Family with young children
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

friendly and welcoming”

the owners, the baths the breakfast

It was my second visit here. It is my accomodation of choice in Yudanaka The rooms are standard Japanese style rooms. What makes this place outstanding is Mr Yumoto and his lovely wife. They are so welcoming. They offer a pick up and drop off from the station and will drop off and pick up from jikokudani where you go to see the monkeys. Mr Yumoto is very good at recommending other things to see and do in the area. This time it was cherry blossoms. And he made a great recommendation for our evening meal.

Reviewed May 03, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from United States
Family with young children
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Japanese hospitality”

Accommodating and friendly staff; transport to/from monkey park

Yumoto-san and his wife were so kind and helpful for our entire stay and showed us true Japanese hospitality. They provided easy transport to and from the monkey park and to nearby dinners. They provided also advice on what to do in the area and were very accommodating for our toddler -- he loved his "special" slippers and also enjoyed the onsen experience!

Reviewed February 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Wai from China
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Nice Staff with transportation provided”

Staff are very nice, they provide transportation to/from Yudanaka station and Monkey Park

Staffs there are very nice, the owner Mr. Shimaya can speak English so there won't be any communication problem for foreign traveller. Although it is not located next to Yudanaka Station (around 10 mins walk), they provide transportation to/from Yudanaka station and majoy sightseeing spot like Monkey Park. They have free indoor onsen, and you can also enjoy a private outdoor onsen nearby by paying a little extra. One shortcoming is that they only offer breakfast, for lunch/dinner you have to eat outside which is around 5-10mins away. Overall, I enjoy my stay very much and I will stay here again next time when I travel to Yudanaka.

Reviewed February 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Yin from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Accommodating & very friendly - Ichiro & wife”

Staff, food and good sightsee advice

Mr Ichiro took the trouble to find out what we wanted to do in Yudanaka. He gave excellent suggestions for sightseeing during our short stay. He even drove us to the snow monkey park and pick us up again! We were impressed with his hospitality and help. We certainly recommend a stay at Shimiya.

Reviewed February 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Affordable, great staff, quaint”

the manager was very helpful (drove us to local attractions), meals were great, close to onsen area

My wife and I found this hotel affordable and cozy. Its immediate surroundings aren't much to speak of, but it is very close to the Monkey Park and popular onsens. The manager was accommodating and tried very hard to understand our extremely limited Japanese. The other hotel staff were very friendly and inviting as well. Bottom line...great place to stay near Nagano and easy on the wallet. The hotel does not have an onsen on site, but they do operate a private onsen nearby (quick walk). There's a local sushi restaurant that is the best I've ever had as well.

Reviewed December 25, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

This was the best part of our trip to Japan!”

Amazing helpful staff, comfortable authentic rooms, outside onsen hot spring

Yudanaka Onsen Shimaya is an absolute must on a journey through Japan. The owners Mr. and Mrs. Yomoto are the most accommodating and friendly people you could ever meet! Mr. Yomoto personally drove us to the monkey park to see the snow monkeys (which was awesome), pointed out local spots to eat and taste free sake, and graciously answered any questions we had. The authentic Japanese ryokan style room has comfortable futons on the bed, a nice sitting room, and access to some of the hottest and nicest onsen hot springs we had ever seen! Mr. Yumoto also took us to a private outside onsen with a nice view of the city at night. Beautiful! Total A+ stay.

Reviewed July 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Benjamin from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

We came here to see the snow monkeys”

The owners picked us up from the train station and drove us everywhere

The owners were very friendly and helpful so we got to see and do everything we had come for. There weren't any places open to eat at when we decided to have dinner at around 9pm, I guess we arrived off season on a weekday.

Reviewed May 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Craig from Ireland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2012

Wonderful welcoming customer service”

Great advice on where to eat, transfers to train station & the snow monkey park

This was our most wonderfully welcoming stay in Japan. The transfers to and from the train station were so lovely, as was the transfer to the snow monkey park. Along with the advice on where to eat in the town it made our stay in Yudanaka a most restful and relaxing experience. The onsen itself is lovely, the bath is so relaxing. It is possible to book the bath privately for a couple for up to an hour. This was perfect as it allowed us to completely relax after a very busy time in Tokyo. The customer service was just wonderful. Every request was granted to the best of their ability. The snow monkeys were awesome! The experience is brilliant. I would recommend this onsen and the snow monkey park to anyone.

Reviewed October 24, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Zoltan from Hungary
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012

Great hospitality, excellent programmes”

lovely onsen and excursion place, very hospitable owner/manager

House run, who do all and go as far as possible that you have a memorable stay. Take their suggestions, enjoy the splendid house and you will indeed have a great time Great japanese rooms in a good ryokan Free washing possibility onsit Station 10 mins on foot

Reviewed August 24, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Kevin from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Great tourist experience”

Extremely friendly manager, great rooms

I picked this inn because of the price, but it ended up being one of my favorite stops in Japan. The innkeeper really made sure that I experienced everything I could in the one night I stayed here. He drove me to a great outdoor hot spring, then to the town's summer festival, and he dropped me off at a spot for dinner too. The next morning, he drove me to the famous monkeys-in-hot springs park. I appreciated the traditional style room, which was easily the biggest room I've had in Japan. The only thing that I disliked was that the manager asked me to write a positive review as I was leaving (I was planning on doing so anyway).

Reviewed August 16, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Nice & Friendly Hosts”

Very helpful hosts who will recommend programs for you.

Reviewed February 13, 2019
8.0
Excellent
stanley from United States
Family with teens
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Very accommodating ”

Pros: they shuttle you around, lend you boots for the park, great breakfast, very polite. Cons: we went in winter and the room was a bit chilly and the toilet area very small.

Reviewed January 18, 2019
8.0
Excellent
shu from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

Very good”

Good location, plenty of good food around, decent size rooms..

Reviewed January 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ryan from Canada
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Excellent Pension in Nozawa Onsen”

Just a quick summer stay. Great place. Nozawa is the place to be in the winter, summer a little quite.

Reviewed October 10, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Serena from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Exceptional”

Mr and Mrs Yumoto were great hosts. Nice dinner. Mr Yumoto drove us to the Snow Monkey Park and picked us up.

Reviewed April 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Pratchaya from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

GOOD”

GOOD

Reviewed February 11, 2016
8.0
Excellent
PHAIK from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

value for money”

clean, comfortable and value for money

Great

Reviewed March 10, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Group
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015

More than a place to stay”

Helpful owner and staff/ pick up and drop off to & from train station and monkey park/ spacious rooms
Reviewed March 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Siu from Hong Kong
Group
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

good staff”

room is big but the heat condition not so good
Reviewed February 22, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Quek from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Enjoyable vacation stay.”

comfortable, relaxing, friendly

very good.

Reviewed January 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
sankin from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Very Good Location, spacious room, Clean Ryokan”

the staff is very nice, quite area, onsen

their private onsen is 1 mins walking from the hotel. other than that is superb... the staff is very helpful and they send us to the snow monkey JIGOKUDANI YAEN-KOEN for free.

Reviewed October 16, 2014
7.6
Very good
stephane from France
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

nice owners ”

Had a japanese room with bathroom, was As I expected, everything ok. Owners are really helpful and gives you really good tips for visiting the area Location is not as charming as shibu onsen but owners drives you to monkeys or station. Walking back down from monkey park through shibu onsen is a great idea ( 30/40 mins) don't miss the distillery !!

Reviewed March 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Anubhav
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

GOOD Rokayan. Owner was very good & helpful”

Pleasant stay at the Rokayan . Just an personal advice, if you are in Yudanaka for Onsen then try to find hotel near Sibu Onsen, as Yudanaka Onsen is not that good. Though Rokayan is very good, clean.

Reviewed December 12, 2016
5.0
Daniela from Sweden
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

Maybe a little overraited”

Nice Staff

My feeling about this hotell is no reflection on the staff and onwers, because they were really nice. I get the high rating of the hotell if you are a backpacker. If you are not, you will be dissapointed. The lobby is really messy. The pillows were really hard, but on the other side I could feel the floor throw the matress. So, sorry to say, this was the hotell we regreted staying at on our journey throw Japan.

Reviewed August 14, 2015
7.7
Very good
Vivian from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Recommendating Stay”

Cleaniness, friendniness, accommodating

Yumoto San, wife and daughther were extremely helpful, offered to send to Monkey Park FOC, food recommendation, 7 mins walk from the Yudanaka train station. The onsen is basic, basically no view but very comfortable and clean. The futon bed is so nice to sleep in. The in-house onsen water is too hot, can cook eggs to the extend. The private outdoor onsen is 600Yen for an hour which i think is a little pricey. My understanding was FOC to use as it belongs to the owner himself. Overall I had a great stay and recommended. I presented a gift to his wife as my appreciation for all the great hospirality. The only complaint i have is the food smell which lingered to the room as the microwave is placed just outside my room. It has to do with the food the other guests brought in and make use of the microwave oven provided.

Reviewed December 09, 2014
5.7
Stephanie from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Hostel like”

Breakfast, pickup and drop off at train station, pickup and drop off snow monkey park

It was fine. Very minimal. No elevator and I was on the 4th floor. Very old but there is wifi. The best parts of the stay were the amazing breakfast and the car service. No restaurants nearby so dinner consisted of convenience store food warmed in the microwave. The real negative of this place is just that it's so far from everything. Walking from the ryokan to nearby villages wasn't really feasible due to narrow, steep roads.

Reviewed February 02, 2014
7.7
Very good
Geoffrey from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Exactly as described in ads”

Authentically Japanese, very accomodating, English-speaking hosts, proximity to Jigokudani National Park to view snow monkeys

A most pleasant stay as the ryokan offered exactly what the website description had promised: an authentic experience of staying in a traditional ryokan but with "western" amenities (toilet and separate, small bathroom, free wi-fi) incl. a western breakfast. Of course, we slept on futon beds on tatami mats which was more comfortable than we had expected. The hosts,both of whom spoke English, went out of their way to be helpful with suggestions of where to eat and picked us up from the train station as well as drove us to and from the entrance of the "Monkey Park". The ryokan even provides its guests with rubber boots for this outing. We highly recommend this ryokan to anyone seeking a more traditional hospitality experience than higher-priced, non-descript hotel chains. P.S. The reykon is next to a haiku museum (unfortunately not open in March) and a nice, casual restaurant serving excellent soba nabe hot pot.

Reviewed March 28, 2013
6.7
Good
Iris from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013

Really Wonderful Stay”

onsen, transport to snow, and the staff

I had a really lovely experience staying at Shimaya. It was a bit tricky to figure out the map from the Information Office at the Yudanaka Train Station, but I asked the convenience store and they were able to help me out. Here's a tip: there's a sign on the corner that points to where all the local ryokan are! Anyways, once I arrived at Shimaya Ryokan, it was absolutely great. The room came with a [coomfortable-enough] futon on the floor, a flat screen television, a fridge, some green tea, and your own yukata/robe to borrow for getting to/from the public bath on the lower level. The baths (there are two of them, the female/male side switches daily) are also quite lovely, and if you're a little shy you can have them reserved for private use. The owners were extremely pleasant, showed an interest in my job (robots are pretty cool), and even drove me (1) to the snow Monkey Park entrance, (2) to Shibu Onsen (a nearby onsen town), and (3) to a hotel on a mountain with an outdoor rotenburo to watch the sunset (highly recommended!). One day I decided to visit nearby Obuse (known for its chestnuts and Hokusei), and the owner's recommendations for lunch and the temples were perfect. Overall, highly highly recommended. My only issue was that the walls might be a bit thin as it is easy to hear the neighbor watching television. But with some ear plugs, this is a tiny problem. I guess the free wifi was also an issue, as it did not my room.

Reviewed March 26, 2013
7.0
Very good
James from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

If you like monkeys, come here”

Enthusiastic owner

we stayed at this japanese style family hotel to enjoy monkeys and hotsprings. the enthusiastic owner picked us up from the train station, let us take private baths in the house onsen, and drove us to all the sights free of charge. this would be a particularly good place for families with kids to stay at.

Reviewed February 01, 2013
7.7
Very good
Ricky from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Very nice and friendly owner!”

Very friendly staff, quiet.

Stayed in the traditional japanese room for one which was probably too big but it was pretty nice. The owner was extremely friendly and brought me to see the snow monkeys (drove me right to the front then walked the path in 1.6km) It was a great experience seeing the snow monkeys. After that I walked my way back and there are plenty of signs that will guide you back to Yudanaka station so you wont get lost easily. It was quite a far walk for me but I enjoyed seeing the town on my way back.

Reviewed December 06, 2012
6.8
Good
Saskia from Germany
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Hotel is really old. Our room was renovated so it was ok. Owner is super nice!”

Free shuttle to monkey park. Hostel around the corner is newer and may be better value for money in this location. But the staff is really helpful and nice!

Reviewed December 18, 2017
6.8
Good
Bee from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Nice place to stay”

Very comfy beds on tatami. Very helpful staffs. But toilet in room a bit smelly.

Reviewed December 17, 2017
7.6
Very good
King from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Helpful owner, nice stay”

The owner is very nice to tourists. He is willing to provide transport to and from the nearest station. The room is clean and spacious. Wonderful stay

Reviewed May 06, 2016
6.0
ploypin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Single Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

Near city”

Near city, owner take care and clean

Owner take care but talk all time, I don't like because I need to private vacation.

Reviewed October 20, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Jin from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Exceptional”

Great!!!

Reviewed January 25, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
EDGAR from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018

Exceptional”

The host family is incredibly nice

Reviewed January 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
CHUN from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style Triple Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Worth to stay, value for money ”

The host are kind and friendly, they picked us up at the station and bring us to the snow monkey park, the service is superb!

Reviewed December 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Dion from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Very good”

Was in 4th floor, no lift at hotel.

Reviewed April 07, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Kenix from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Owner very nice”

Owner very nice Fetch us to Snow Monkey Park Entrance & fetch us to train station

Reviewed February 17, 2017