Book Now: Yugiriso Ryokan

Excellent
From 306 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 83% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (306)Booking.com Reviews (635)
8.2
Excellent
From 306 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.9
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.5
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Japanese Style With Private Bath
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 216 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
Ronald from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Pleasant stay with nice hot spring”
I would say it is located quite deeper inside so for those first time here if your GPS not working properly you might spend a little bit of time to get to the place. The good thing is the cruise just nearby so you can plan for a ride on your favorable time. Consider if the weather is bad (during winter season), the ropeway might be closed, and some of the shop closed earlier in the night. You might find it difficulty to find foods surrounding your area and the nearest 7-11 shop is by walking distance around 10mins away. For the breakfast consider not bad, and they have two hot spring (indoor & outdoor) both consider quite good. The only thing i can recommend for this ryokan is hopefully they can provide transport service to pick the guest from the designated location. Overall, i have a good experience staying here and thank you for your good service.
Reviewed February 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Miranda from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
We were so happy to be traditionally dressed in traditional Japanese clothing. ”
The traditional sleeping beds were very comfortable. The onsen I had to myself at night and it was very nice, especially in the winter.
Reviewed February 07, 2017
8.8
Excellent
ang from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Highly recommended ”
Location :It is very easy to find the hotel ,about 5 min walk from the bus (H for Hakone free pass holder) terminal(Hakoneguchi Interchange). It is also near the Harbour to Pirate Ship, hence, the lake view was wonderful! Staffs were very polite. Facilities: there are one bigger public SPA & a smell private spa . Overall it was quite clean except there was musty from blanket.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
6.8
Good
Michael from Canada
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Authentic Japanese guesthouse”
Staff were great and place felt genuinely traditional. Would return 👍🏽
Reviewed January 26, 2017
8.8
Excellent
opart from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Good experience”
lovely place, nice to stay
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
LEE from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
service superb ”
the service was superb
Reviewed January 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sheng from Taiwan
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Nice hot spring, feel like home.”
The hotel room is a little bit old but cozy. The breakfast and dinner are very nice. The hot spring is wonderful. I had a stomach in the morning, the host was very helpful for solving my problem. They try very hard using English to communicate with foreign people. Very nice place.
Reviewed January 16, 2017
7.2
Very good
Brigitte from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Wonderful experience ”
I was pleasantly suprised upon arrival after reading previous reviews. The place was so easy to find! We simply took the boat (apart of the Hakone freepass) which stops across the road from the accomodation. The place is certainly old and dated, but if you want to try a Ryokan for the first time, you will enjoy. Its a little weird walking through the corridors to the room, but on arrival the room is clean and presented nicely. The lady who looked after us did a wonderful job, despite having no english. The dinner is huge!! It wad a unique experience! There is no wifi in the rooms and japanese tv only! Staff were helpful - would reccomend!
Reviewed January 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Barbara from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Loved this place. The onsen was wonderful. It's about an hour bus ride away from main train station, so would suggest putting large luggages into lockers at station and take a carry on with you. Staff”
Highly recommend!
Reviewed December 21, 2016
2.8
Stuart from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Total crap”
This place is a joke. Staff is unprofessional and incompetent. Onsen is small and pathetic. They gave me one hand towel and when I tried to ask for another at the desk, they said I had to pay extra. It's overall very old and just gross. No good view from my window. Lady got nervous when I tried to open the shutters because well, it's ugly out the window. Looks good on the outside, seriously total garbage on the inside. Food is decent but not impressed. Also, hilariously, some guy stole my white slippers at the onsen. Saw him later and made him give them back. Just a crappy ryokan. What else can I say? Everything other ryokan I've stayed at was better than this place.
Reviewed December 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
Yew from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Relaxing place...solely for relaxing”
Overall is good. Onsen is available throughout the night. The outlook of the Ryokan doesn't really standout but inside it is alright. Prepare to bring your own snacks or beer because the nearest convenience store is 6km away.
Reviewed December 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Varangkanang from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good onsen both outdoor and indoor.”
Good onsen both outdoor and indoor with outstanding japanese style services.
Reviewed December 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Israa from Australia
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
A very good place and wonderful staff”
I loved the place, cosy and clean. The onsen was great and very relaxing. The staff were very kind, nice and friendly despite the fact that I don't know Japanese. The food was very good, they met my food requirements and I can see that it is of a high quality and fresh. Great value for money considering the prices on Ryokans. I honestly thought this would be my first and last Ryokan experience but I enjoyed it so much that I would want to experience more next time I come to Japan. I'll definitely recommend this place to my firends and family and whoever is going to Japan. Thank you very much for the great care and your hospitality, will definitely come back again.
Reviewed December 04, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yvonne from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Lovely relaxing experience especially sitting in the onsen with snow falling outside ”
Lovely last who served us dinner .She was so concerned the sliding door was sticking!
Reviewed November 28, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jessica from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Lovely ryokan, yummy food”
The ryokan was quite conveniently located, just 2 mins walk from the bus stop (take the bus near 7-11 opposite the port and tell the driver Yugiriso). The onsen was awesome and with both indoor and outdoor public onsen. There even is a private indoor, enough for a couple or small family. The kaiseki dinner was very scrumptious with more than enough to eat.
Reviewed November 28, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jenny from Australia
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Authentic and great location”
This is a really nice ryokan in the old style, but Western enough for non-Japanese. Its location is great; a very short walk from the ferry terminal on the Hakone circuit - there is a third party bag-delivery service from Hakone station that could be useful to others who go to this hotel - and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The manager has enough English to get non-Japanese speakers through the process and we very much enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
7.6
Very good
Prasert from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Good location but expensive , Lots of timing and very stict”
Good location but expensive , Lots of timing and very strict eg. dinner , breakfast at certain time. room has to be kept and clean after breakfast. and so
Reviewed November 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Christopher from Australia
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great ryokan experience ”
Great ryokan experience - very japanese feel. Friendly and helpful staff. The food served was very authentic with a great personal touch.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
6.0
Christoffer from Denmark
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice staff, but worn down facilities”
Very friendly and helpful staff. The place was seemed old and used. Could do with a makeover.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
2.8
Laura from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Weird place, far out, not worth it”
Staff was weird, the bath was moldy, they come to check the mini fridge in the morning, then lock it, which is the weirdest thing I've seen especially after paying this much for the night and only having a couple beers and soft drinks stocked...
Reviewed November 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
JINGLE from China
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice place to stay.”
Everything is good and I really enjoy the stay.
Reviewed November 09, 2016
8.8
Excellent
michael from United States
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Decent ryokan and with a lot to do in the area”
This ryokan had a good size room and the front desk spoke excellent English. Hot spring facilities were clean, relaxing, and open all night. The ryokan was clean but worn, and there are apparently no non-smoking rooms, in spite of the option we selected via Agoda. We didn't get the food option, and there was only one restaurant/bar open in the area at night.
Reviewed October 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Corinna from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Great stay , super friendly staff”
We had a great time here. Luggage storage was easy before and after our stay. It was even brought to our room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good mix of Japanese and international tourists. Great Japanese breakfast. The rooms actually do come with a sink and toilet. Only showers are in a common room. You might prefer the hot bath area. That one can be crowded for women. You could also just go to one of the many onsen around.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
6.4
Good
CHIA from Taiwan
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Great!”
Great place to stay due to friendly staff.
Reviewed September 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dj from China
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Excellent View and Great Experience”
The lake nears by has an excellent view and I highly recommend to live here!
Reviewed July 12, 2016
6.0
Soon from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Decent Hotel”
Old hotel, but pretty decent. Friendly staff, though not proficient in English. Hotel close to close to the port. 5 -minute walk from the port. But, away from most Hakone's attraction, esp the away from the train route.
Reviewed June 03, 2016
5.6
Fong from Macau
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Not clean”
Room was not clean
Reviewed May 28, 2016
6.0
CHIA from Taiwan
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Lovely hotel”
Good hotel to stay even though it is a bit old. People are very friendly, location is good, very close to the port. 5 -minute walk from the port to the hotel. Will consider to stay again in next trip.
Reviewed May 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
kanokporn from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
traditional”
good for onsen
Reviewed April 22, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
kwun from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Relax and Nice”
Nice staff, spa, quite environment
Very good
Reviewed March 20, 2016
6.7
Good
nicole from China
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
cute place ”
hot spring, warmly staff, nice surrounding
hotel really close with a beautiful lake, and you can see fuji mounain if weather clear, have great hot spring ,but not have too much thing to eat nearby.
Reviewed December 29, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Gu from Japan
Group
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Awesome experience ”
Food! Onsen that is available throughout the night! And really kind and nice staffs
Spent 2 nights at YUGIRISO, totally enjoyed the stay there. I used the onsen at midnight so I had the whole place to myself. Especially loved the outdoor onsen. But might be too small for larger groups.
Reviewed December 29, 2015
7.3
Very good
pui from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
not the best one but acceptable with this price”
good location; nice staff; clean bathroom/onsen
Reviewed December 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
LEE from Singapore
Family with teens
Japanese Style 4 Persons
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
NICE JAPANESE”
Staff performance, cozy room, hot spring
The staffs were very nice and helpful, even though they can't really speak english. We arrived at 9+pm and the staffs knew that we have not had dinner, they advised us to grab simple dinner at the convenience store nearby. When we return from the convenience store, the staffs had prepared our bed for us, tatami style. There are gender separated hot and cold springs available for 24 hours! Very nice hotel definitely will rebook this hotel again!
Reviewed December 06, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
YEE from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Best Onsen”
Onsen, Comfortable, Good service
When we arrive to the hotel, kind staff direct us to our room and prepare green tea for us. Nice outdoor onsen. The thing that I'm not satisfied is their WIFI. Wifi is only available in hotel lobby
Reviewed November 26, 2015
7.3
Very good
Zheng from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
A special experience”
Staffs, Hot spring, Comfy room
Reviewed September 27, 2015
7.3
Very good
Igor from Russia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Yogiriso”
Availability of onsen, the food of course, the location
Our staying in hotel was pretty nice actually, but the whole impression was ruined by the room where the previous guests looked like we're smoking heavily. It's despite of the note in the special requirement that we needed the non smoking room please. Bath is rather dirty - didn't use it, onsen is great, and open any time , except of the 20 minutes for cleaning. Location is convenient, about 5 minutes from the bus stop do walk. The food is great and authentic Japanese- enjoyed it a lot, we were served and dinner and breakfast. The hotel personnel does speak English but not all of them, by the strange reason the room was showed to us by the very nice lady but she didn't speak English at all , and we unfortunately don't speak Japanese. Overall it was very good experience.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
6.3
Good
Pakorn from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Near sightseing place”
Good
Reviewed August 02, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Nopadol from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
beautiful scenery”
lovely hotel , close to the JR, nice view
I love this hotel becuse of the scenery. there are close to the JR station and many restaurant and convenient store. In the hotel staff is very friendly.
Reviewed July 14, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
chengwa from Macau
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
What a nice hotel”
Staffs, Facilities and Food
This is my first stayed in a japanese sytle hotel, the gentleman at reception can speak english very well, broader room, good hot spring and very delicious food! it is a really good hotel that worth everyone to pay a visit!
Reviewed May 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Waranuch from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Everything is great.”
Good service mind, nice facilities, good location
The hotel is very closed to the Hakone Machi pier and the bus stop, so it is convenient to travel from/to there. The staff really gives good service. There are both indoor and outdoor onsens separated as male and female. The breakfast is a big set and is worth paying for. One thing to keep in mind is that the hotel name sign infront is Japanese only. The good way the make sure you arrive the right hotel is to prepare Japanese name of the hotel and compare it with the sign infront of the hotel. All in all, I like this hotel and will recommend it to my friends.
Reviewed April 30, 2015
7.7
Very good
leslie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Good spot”
The yuri is in good location on lake ashi which gives the best views of my fuji - I liked the onsen and experience of staying in traditional inn
Reviewed April 20, 2015
7.3
Very good
YONG from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Comfortable and Relaxing traditional Ryokan”
Service from the staff, Comfortable room and Onsen
Staying at Yugiriso provided a good rest and relax break from touring the cities. The hotel staff are very polite and will try their best to make your stay a pleasant one.
Reviewed April 12, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Kathryn from United States
Family with young children
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Japanese experience”
Staff, food and service
Room was very worn and well used - private bath was a little dirty
Reviewed April 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
TSUNG from Taiwan
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
A real Japaness Style Accommodation”
service, room space, envrironment
Good location, big room, high quality service, great breakfast, omfortable onsen but space is a pretty small (the space of ourdoor onsen is ok for 3 persons, but will be a bit crowded for 4), however the onsen is almost 24 hours so it's still ok, you can go to the onsen in midnight, no one bothering you.
Reviewed April 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
MELLISA from Indonesia
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Perfect getaway”
Nice Staff, clean, nice onsen
Onsen was great experience, but no yukata. no dinner was served during my stay, so I dont know about the food.
Reviewed April 08, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Eng from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Nice stay, would recommend.”
Good location, Friendly, Onsen
The hotel is located at Hakone-Machi, which is a short walk from the Hakone-machi bus station/port. The staff were quite friendly, he deposited our luggage before check-in time and they helped us moved our luggage to our room when we got back. A very pleasant Japanese style room and has both indoor and outdoor onsen, which is very nice as the hotel itself is less crowded, most of the time you can occupy the whole onsen youself. Would recommend to get dinner as nearby restaurant all close at evening, can only get maggi mee cup if did not book dinner prior.
Reviewed February 25, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Couple
Japanese Style with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Good weekend getaway”
Location, bath, bed
One night getaway with the wife. As much as I felt $350 was too much, this kind of trip is just one of those things you have to do in Japan. Very traditional and relaxing. Futon on the floor was comfortable after the bath. Food was just ok though. Lots of sightseeing to do on the other side of the lake via the ropeway. Great trip and great place to stay!
Reviewed February 19, 2015
5.0
HUNGJU from Taiwan
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
not friendly to foreign traveler.”
the hotel is not maintained very well, kind of old and dirty. no one speaks foriegn language. not good for foreigner, not good for couple, and far away from town.
Reviewed February 02, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
DEVON from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Experience Japan”
Location, excellent service, environment!
It was a great experience staying at this japanese traditional themed hotel! The environment is amazing. It's a great getaway from all the crowd and busyness. The staffs were so polite and helpful;)! And it's a great start for travellers to explore hakone. Perfect itinerary. The hotel is not as hard to locate even though it is located quite far away from the main station. Just ask around and you will do fine. And there's a English signboard now;)
Reviewed September 12, 2014