select your datePlease enter your stay dates to see price
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

"Friendly staff, I felt there like at home."

Rakovskaia - February 24, 2019
 ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
Interior view ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
Interior view ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
See all 30 photos

ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

#3416 Guernica Street, Barangay Palanan, Makati, Manila, Philippines, 1235 - See map
Free Wi-Fi
Property highlights
Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the hygiene measures
Learn more
Front desk [24-hour]
Hassle-free check in
See map
Popular landmarks
emanuel sevilla dental clinic 140 m
Health Port 140 m
Cash & Carry Supermarket 240 m
Comprehensive Pulmonary Clinic 260 m
Cash & Carry Parking Area 260 m
Palanan Health Center 310 m
Cash and Carry Mall 340 m
Lifemed Clinics and GB Diagnostics 340 m
Ortiz Medical & Skin Clinic 370 m
Linear Swimming Pool 440 m
Nearby landmarks
Robinsons Place Manila 2.94 km
Rizal Park 3.86 km
National Museum 4.06 km
Manila Ocean Park 4.13 km
Fort Santiago 4.59 km
San Agustin Church 4.62 km
Casa Manila 4.69 km
Manila Cathedral 4.99 km
Quiapo Church 5.01 km
Intramuros 5.15 km
8.1

Excellent

Location rating score

320 meters from city center
Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Health and Medical
First aid kit
  • 540 meters to public transportation

  • Laundry service

  • Smoking area

  • Dry cleaning

  • Shared kitchen

Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Manila in the last 24 hoursCompared to 4,217 Manila properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money8.2
Location rating8.1
Nearest airportNinoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
Distance to airport5.3 km

Rooms available at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

6-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 6 m²/65 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
20-bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
12-bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 7 m²/75 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 7 m²/75 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Room Assigned on Arrival
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Com
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Bed in dormitory STANDARD
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices

        Frequently asked questions

        What time is check-in and check-out at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

        Check-in is from 11:30 AM, and check-out is until 12:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

        How do I get to ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

        For those who wish to drive their own cars, ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers has a car park available for guests. Parking is free for guests. Parking options include a full-service valet for total ease. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Manila with private transportation, the hostel can arrange car rental for you.

        What is the smoking policy at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

        See map
        Explore the neighborhood

        What people love about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

        • 8.0
          Very good

          "Recommended for easy lending"

          Ron

          |

          December 29, 2018

        • 8.8
          Excellent
          Staff 

          "Awesome and friendly staff."

          Ana

          |

          November 25, 2018

        • 10.0
          Exceptional

          "Highly recommended."

          Michal

          |

          September 7, 2018

        Property ranking|Compared to 4,217 Manila properties
        See all rankings
        Cheapest price score
        Service score
        8.7/10
        Value for money score
        8.4/10
        Location score
        8.3/10
        Better than
        99
        %
        of Manila properties
        Better than
        97
        %
        of Manila properties
        Better than
        95
        %
        of Manila properties
        Better than
        92
        %
        of Manila properties
        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        Overall rating:
        7.9
        Very good
        89 reviews
        Cleanliness
        7.3
        Facilities
        7.4
        Location
        8.1
        Read all reviews >
        What travelers say they love:
        You will feel like home in this place.
        Steven from Indonesia
        Solo traveler
        More about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

        More about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

        For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Manila, ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers is the perfect choice. Set from the excitement of the city, this 1-star property commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the property offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.

        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Manila. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour security, daily housekeeping, 24-hour front desk, luggage storage.

        Step into one of 6 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day, A selection of amenities can be found in most rooms, inlcuding linens, internet access – wireless (complimentary), smoking policy – non-smoking available, air conditioning, shower. The property's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking charm, comfort, and convenience in Manila.

        Show less

        Most talked about facilities

        Food & Dining
        3 mentions
        Taxi
        2 mentions
        Housekeeping
        2 mentions
        Internet
        1 mention

        What they offer

        8.8
        Excellent

        "Enjoyable place to just chill."

        Ana

        |

        November 25, 2018

        View all reviews
        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Food and dining

        Breakfast options

        Asian

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        Reviews of ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers from real guests

        Provided by verified guests of Agoda
        7.9
        /
        10
        Cleanliness7.3
        Facilities7.4
        Location8.1
        Service8.5
        Value for money8.2
        High score for Manila
        Rating
        9+ Exceptional (13)
        8-9 Excellent (6)
        7-8 Very Good (2)
        6-7 Good (4)
        <6 Below Expectation (12)
        Time of the year
        Mar - May (5)
        Jun - Aug (8)
        Sep - Nov (11)
        Dec - Feb (13)
        All guests (89)
        All languages

        Show reviews that mention 

        Showing 37 verified guest comments
        12
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Michal from Czech Republic
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 6 nights in August 2018

        Great place to stay in Manila”

        It is the most friendly staff in this hostel, location is it close enough to the airport and also lots of choices for food and drinks around. Highly recommend for short or long stay. I was here around the two weeks.

        Reviewed August 28, 2018

        Dear Michal, Thank you for the perfect score! We are very happy to accomodate you in a place that you found strategic! Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We look forward to see you again. Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Anna from Poland
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in May 2018

        Great atmosphere and very relaxed stay, staff and owners are very kind and always there to help you!”

        Excellent food, great people, very helpful and kind staff and owners, very convenient location, one of the best hostels!

        Reviewed May 25, 2018

        Dear Anna, Thank you for the perfect score! It is very exciting to know that you had a great stay and felt so warmly welcomed during your stay with us. As the top rated budget hotel franchise in Asia, we work hard to provide the best value-for-money stays and a pleasant experience. We look forward to see you again! Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Michal from Czech Republic
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 16 nights in August 2018

        Best hostel in Manila”

        This the most friendly place with amazing staff, location is a short ride by taxi from the airport and all the great food around just in walking distance. Highly recommended.

        Reviewed September 07, 2018

        Dear Michal, Thank you so much for the perfect rating! We are very happy to accomodate you in the property and provide you with a great stay. We appreciate your recommendation to our future travellers! As the top rated budget hotel franchise in Asia, we work hard to provide the best value-for-money stays and a pleasant experience. We look forward to see you again! Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        lestari from Indonesia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

        high recommended”

        clean, spacious, nice staff, quick to take action if some problem coming. walking distance to the mall and also to the big street where you take jeep or bus

        Reviewed June 03, 2018

        Dear Lestari, Thank you for the perfect score! We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us, especially with the service provided! At ZEN Rooms we pride ourselves in taking actions fast - this is how we became the top rated budget hotel chain in Asia. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        3.6
        Lena from Germany
        Couple
        Stayed 1 night in February 2019

        A veritable disaster”

        Only three bathrooms for over 26 people. One was broken, one smelled disgustingly, for the third one you have to wait a while before you could use it. There were cockroaches in the bathroom. The 20-bed-dorm smelled like hell. There was no real option to air the room (only two mini windows which never have been used by the hostel staff or any other hostel guest during the stay). Barely any daylight in the room. Two bunk beds stand in front of the windows so there is (day-)light from the outside hostel corridor shining on your bed. And people outside can watch you lying in your upper bed from the outside if you don't cover the window with a towel or so. Signs say that you have to be quiet after 11 p.m. but during the two nights we stayed loud music, playing guitar etc. went on until 2 a.m. in the morning. The hostel staff seemed to support people making noisy by saying nothing or making their own party. Staying a little time after check-out will be charged. + Hot water for free, kitch

        Reviewed February 11, 2019

        Dear Lena, Thank you for your review. We deeply sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience with us. However, we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Please rest assured that we are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We hope to welcome you again with better experience to share! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Steven from Indonesia
        Solo traveler
        Bed in 20-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
        Stayed 1 night in August 2019

        Exceptional”

        kind and helpful staff, close to Tourist destination, and convenient place.. oh and that cute friendly dog... you will feel like home in this place.

        Reviewed August 23, 2019
        8.4
        Excellent
        Ana from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in December 2018

        Excellent”

        Good place to stay as it's cheap, clean and well located. Staff is friendly. Wi-Fi is good. The only downside is that quiet time is not really respected so it can be hard to get some decent sleep.

        Reviewed December 05, 2018
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Rakovskaia from Russia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

        Amazing ”

        Very good place for transit travel and not only. Friendly staff, I felt there like at home. Thank you so much ❤️

        Reviewed February 24, 2019

        Dear Rakovskaia, Thank you for the positive feedback! We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectation. Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back with ZEN! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Michal from Czech Republic
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 6 nights in August 2018

        Nice and cheap place ”

        Convenient location, just behind the corner is a big shopping mall and from airport several minutes by taxi.

        Reviewed August 20, 2018

        Dear Michal, Thank you for the perfect score! We are happy to help you travel more and pay less! Low rates and constant focus on enhancing customer experience are what sets ZEN Rooms apart from many other budget hotels. We will be looking forward to welcome you back! Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        6.0
        Jackie
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in June 2018

        Cheap”

        Cheap rate with breakfast bread-toast and coffee (although I don't drink coffee, no other option). Chinese Nationality did make a refill on the electric kettle and they are shocked it came from the faucet instead of mineral water (I know the germs can be gone when it is heated, but glad wasn't able to drink it- if there was choco or powdered milk.) Room are the only place with NO SMOKING. So if you want to work in the common rooms, good luck coz people and the owner smoked anywhere. Finally, obviously the owner is into good entertaining foreigners. Hope you know what I mean.

        Reviewed June 18, 2018

        Dear Jackie, Thank you for the feedback! We are very sorry to hear about your inconvenience regarding the smoking policy. Please be assured that we have raised this to the higher management and our team to be discussed for an improvement. We work continuously to ensure our guest could have a great stay with us. By booking with ZEN Rooms you can be sure to get the best value-for-money. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Bella

        Responded September 17, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        8.4
        Excellent
        Andrey from Russia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in October 2018

        After the heat and slums of Manila really looks like paradise.”

        Not very powerful Wi-Fi. Of the benefits of a large number of European travelers. There is also cheap local food and a decent supermarket.

        Reviewed October 28, 2018

        Dear Andrey, We would like to apologize for inconvenience occurred during your stay. We can assure you that we have made a lot improvements since the last time you stay. Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. We hope to meet you again in the near future! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        8.8
        Excellent
        Ana from Australia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

        A real haven in Makati”

        Awesome and friendly staff. Very good wifi. Enjoyable place to just chill. Had a great stay !

        Reviewed November 25, 2018
        6.4
        Good
        Sean
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

        Good”

        Extensive common area, however it is not fully enclosed so beware of mosquitoes at certain times of day. Large dorm room. Not the best arrangement but it's satisfactory.

        Reviewed January 21, 2019

        Dear Sean, Thank you so much for the feedback. It’s a surprise to hear that mosquitoes were an issue during your stay, as we always spray the rooms with mosquito repellent upon preparing the room. We can assure you that we are continuously working on improving our guest experience and your feedback is helping us. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        8.4
        Excellent
        Pavel from Russia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

        Need conditioner at 6 people number and adapter for many sockets”

        Need conditioner at 6 people number and adapter for many sockets

        Reviewed November 06, 2018

        Dear Pavel, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you went through some unpleasant moment during your stay. Next time when you stay with us, please do not hesitate to ask for assistance from our staff as they will be happy to help you. By booking with ZEN Rooms you can be sure to get the best value-for-money. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Rakovskaia from Russia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

        Very good service, clean and no insects”

        Good place to stay

        Reviewed February 04, 2019

        Dear Rakovskaia, We truly appreciate you taking your time to share this wonderful review with fellow travelers! We are very pleased to have received a great feedback from you! Your positivity is very encouraging! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we are happy to hear we hit the mark for you. As the top-rated budget hotel company in Asia, we pride ourselves in providing the best value-for-money stays. We hope to welcome you again anytime soon! Best regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        6.8
        Good
        Shai from Israel
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in January 2019

        Kind staff”

        There is nice atmosphere at the bar but very had to fall asleep with all the noise that still on even in 01:00 am

        Reviewed January 29, 2019

        Dear Shai, Thank you for staying with us! It is great to hear that our staff can accommodate you well while you stay with us. However, we are sorry to know that the experience of staying with us was overshadowed by the noises from outside. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. With our constant focus on the lowest rates and the best value for money, we are happy to see that we could help you to travel more and pay less. We hope to welcome you soon at our best! Kind regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        10.0
        Exceptional
        angelo from Philippines
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in June 2018

        Very nice place”

        very nice place

        Reviewed September 26, 2018

        Dear Angelo, Thank you so much for the perfect rating! It is nice to know that you had a great stay at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers! As the top rated budget hotel franchise in Asia, we work hard to provide the best value-for-money stays and a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcome you back! Best regards, Bella

        Responded October 05, 2018
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        8.4
        Excellent
        Pavel from Russia
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

        Good for this price”

        Needs aircon (not fan)

        Reviewed November 19, 2018
        8.0
        Excellent
        Ron from Israel
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in December 2018

        Very nice people. Good vibes in the hostel .. recommended for easy lending”

        .. recommended for easy lending

        Reviewed December 29, 2018

        Dear Ron, Thank you for the review! We are very pleased to have received a great feedback from you! Total guest satisfaction is our priority. With our constant focus on the lowest rates and the best value for money, we are happy to see that we could help you to travel more and pay less. Come back and see us soon! Best regards, Putri

        Responded April 01, 2019
        ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
        4.8
        Jose from Canada
        Solo traveler
        Stayed 1 night in December 2018

        smoking allow everywhere except the rooms”

        instead of having just one place for smoking or in the outside they allow everyone to smoke where the people want because of this a girl decided to put his cigarette over my luggage and it made a whole on it. for people that does not smoke i would not recommend this place smelling everyone smokes

        Reviewed December 10, 2018
        12
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        null