We booked an en suite room but the en suite was unusable. There was no toilet and the shower was cold and weak. We had to use the other bathrooms.
The WiFi was very hit and miss.
The staff seemed quite rude, they made me feel like we were an inconvenience. We told them when we checked in that we would be checking out very early (around 4am) for an early flight to check that this would be OK. When we checked out we asked them to phone us a taxi but they said they wouldn’t be awake so we had to walk to the bus station and try to find one which we didn’t want to do because Sandakan doesn’t feel particularly safe (the night before I was attacked with bottles by a group of young children who were smoking and verbally abusing me). We had to ask her again to phone a taxi which answered straight away and came immediately.
The best things about the hostel are the rooftop terrace (which has fans) and the front door is always locked so it feels quite safe. Also there is a great massage place a few doors down (Lynns beauty).
We definitely wouldn’t stay in Sandakan again, theres nothing to do and it feels very unsafe. We have travelled a lot in Malaysia and really love it, apart from Sandakan! (Armed military policing the waterfront is pretty intimidating).
Hello Bethany, thank you for writing us a review. You are definitely not an inconvenience to us. To be a home to travelers like you is the reason of the whole existence of our hostel. We are sorry that you did not feel welcomed when you were here and for the miscommunications that happened during your stay. We have been reflecting the matter among our staff to avoid such incidents in the future. The room you have booked is indeed the sea view double room attached with cold shower. We do understand hot showers are more favorable, thus we do not promise hot showers and will brief our guests about it from the beginning. However, we do have plans to upgrade all the showers in our hostel throughout, which has already been mostly done. Being full of wildlife and historical marks, it is a regret to us that Sandakan does not appeal to you as much as we have loved it. Anyhow, if you will end up here again, please do feel free to pay us a visit to see if we have improved from where you saw us.
Really nice place to stay with great view to the sea! ”
Staff super helpful!
The place is overall clean(esp. the rooms), but the bathrooms need to be maintained... Its ok, but old and drain doesnt work everywhere...
Rooftop Terrace is amazing!
Breakfast is the greatest I have ever got in a hostel 😊
Me and my husband stayed at this hostel and even came back to stay for an extra few nights. We had a sea view room and everything was great. Clean rooms, basic but that also what you pay for. Beautiful view and good facilities. Nice rooftop terrace where you can chill and do some work or just relax. Staff is great, they help you with everything you need. Also the breakfast is exactly what you would want, toast with all sorts of choices, hard boiled eggs and some fruit. Great stay and we would reccomend it!
The staff was amazing, really helpful and nice to talk to. Clean toilets and rooms. Good breakfast for a hostel.
Perfect stay at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel”
Lovely, friendly staff. Great location that is perfect for exploring Sandakan. lovely free breakfast and comfy facilities all round!