It's shabby, it doesent actually have any facilities of its own.”
It's next door to a spa so the pictures that you see are of the spa which you have to pay for. You cannot just use the swimming pool you have to pay for a spa day pass every time. The corridors of the hotel make you feel.like your on a ship with no natural light. The carpets are all uneven and the rooms very outdated and shabby. There is no air conditioning so you need the window open but there are no fly screens so you end up with a bedroom full of moths and mosquitos. The cable TV is in German, no actual facilities apart from a small and very expensive bar in the evening. The breakfast is good, usual self service spread. You have to pay for fresh orange juice. It's not good value for money as a whole. Given that you have to pay every time you want to swim and it's about £8.00 you could just stay at any hotel and get a much better room and value for money, this is trading on past glamour I presume because the reality is it's shabby with little to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and with the Booking.com community.
We do welcome all feedbacks does not matter of it is positive or negative either.
Most of our rooms and bathrooms/showers toilets, the Spa are from the 70’s and 80’s from the time „before the wall fell”. We offer real old fashioned „RETRO” art deco style rooms, and bathrooms, - most of them not refurbished, and that’s why we have „pushed down” our rates to an affordable price!
We were sorry to realize that we did not offer a room to match your taste and would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us!
Danubius Hotel Gellért is one of the oldest hotels in Budapest - will be one hundred years old in September 2018!
Guest Relations Manager
Good Value for Price”
The rooms were spacious, though outdated and the mattresses (I stayed in 2 rooms) were lumpy - but they didn't stop me from a great night's sleep. Because the rooms were large and they had great Wi-Fi, amenities like minibar/refrig and robes for the spa, 50% off at the spa with easy access, and served a beautiful breakfast, it was a good value for the price I paid.
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and with the Agoda.com community.
Many thanks for your kind comments on your spacious room, great WI-FI and the beautiful breakfast.
We were happy to read that your stay was a positive experience for you and were happy to read: value for money was OK!
Guest Relations Manager
Beautiful building but rooms is so small and stinky, need to be renovate. Good breakfast . Excellent location, no complains.
High class, historical, comfortable and relaxing.”
Beautiful breakfast and friendly staff....
Thank you very much for posting your kind review, it is so nice to learn from your feedback that you enjoyed your stay at Danubius Hotel Gellért.
Furthermore, we are grateful for your compliments on the lavish breakfast selection available in the mornings.
Overall, we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travellers and it would be nice to accommodate you again here, should you come back to visit Budapest again.
The room was tiny, but ok. A free entrance to the Gellert spa was included as well as breakfast.
Firstly, I would like to express my thankfulness to you for sharing your experiences about your stay in our hotel.
It was a great honour hosting you in our hotel. It is wonderful we were able to meet all of your expectations. I am beyond happy with the fact you enjoyed the Gellért Thermal Bath, our historical thermal bath of Budapest since 1918. It offers both health and wellness service, this is a must to do program in Budapest. Nothing better than after a long day, just lie down and relax in the Spa. Thank you for highlighting our great location and I hope you had the time to explore this beautiful city.
On behalf of our entire team, we cannot wait to welcome you back.
All the best,
Good- ish Hotel”
Although this hotel was good it did have it's faults. We had standard rooms and they were very tired very tired indeed. The bathrooms were 60's with shabby fittings and tiles and awful pipework. The bedroom itself was the same with very shabby furniture, carpet and curtains.
On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable the towels were changed daily the shower was hot and so was the room room. The carpets on the corridors were shabby and crumpled up and the corridors themselves were like something out of an asylum all white walls and white doors no pictures or colour anywhere. Again on the plus side there were the most beautiful stained glass windows at the end of each corridor. It needs updating not altering too much because it has great character, beautiful marble floors and walls. And from the outside it looks wonderful,lit up at night in all it's splendour and beautiful architecture. What a waste of a spectacular hotel could very easily be a 5star!!
First and foremost, we would like to thank you very much for writing down your opinion about our hotel in detail.
It filled us with so much happiness that you decided to stay in our charming and historic hotel, we hope that overall you had a pleasant time here. Meanwhile, we want to say sorry for the discomfort you had, but we ask you to understand that we work really hard and do a lot of effort to improve our hotel and to maintain its high standard.
It would be so nice of you if you gave us one more chance to prove our professionalsim, we will do our best to win your pleasure.
All the best,
Great potential but the inside was left in the 1970s”
The hotel and thermal pools needs renovation with a potential to become a world class 5 star luxury hotel.
Unfortunately, It was like going back in time to the 1970s (which I assume were its golden days). Today everything feels really old and tired.
The staff are highly professional though and the building looks impressive. they should find an investor to renovate the place.
Lovely old world hotel. The first room we were given allowed smoking and although the room did not smell of smoke it was very tired looking. Also there was a movie being shot in the hotel on the way to our room which meant negotiating around all the equipment. We requested a non-smoking room which clearly had been updated and was very nice.
Genuine Hungarian experience”
Stay here if you want to experience local character, architecture and something old. The hotel has a lot of charm. Rooms are a bit of pot luck. Mine had a nice view but it smelt funny and had clearly only just been cleaned as the carpets were wet. So it is a bit of pot luck. My bathroom was dingy, smelt mouldy and the shower head kept falling off, almost breaking my toe. My fellow travellers' room was much nicer, cleaner and bigger. Same price.
The staff are kind of helpful but rather abrupt and surly at times but this is the local flavour that doesn't bow down to us annoying tourists. I liked that. We still got what we asked for. The spa is a big selling point, very relaxing and you can walk in from your room in your dressing gown!
Breakfast is just ok. The coffee machine constantly broke down but there was enough range in food to have something different each morning. The bar has a disappointing range of evening snacks but the staff are friendlier in there and it's nice to go out to the terrace in the evening.
The Patisserie serves excellent coffee, worth skipping the crap at breakfast and paying for one there. It's a nice place to go in the morning to catch the sun and read - even if the baristas seem a bit put upon when you ask for something.
Overall this is fairly priced, has amazing views and access to the tram (stop just outside) but if you are looking to feel pampered and spoilt by staff and comforts in your room then you'll need to drop a few more HUF and stay elsewhere.
Would stay again.
An aging Beauty overlooking the mighty Danube”
Grand design with old world charm interior. Please do not renovate it! Leave it as it is!
Convenient location - Easy to get around by public transport. Just walk or ride to the other side of the river and you find yourself in the heart of the city with the Central Market at the end of the bridge and Vaci Street.
Convenient facilities - Just walk to the spa in your bathrobe. You don't have to leave the building for the most elegant spa experience. Beautiful stain glass and mosaic tiles.
Some of the staff have been working there for over 20 years but still can crack a smile or a joke with you and help wherever they can.
As it is a spa hotel we would recommend more healthy options for breakfast and better coffee. But what a way to have breakfast in the elegant breakfast room and/or on the terrace overlooking the Danube with the Liberty Bridge.
No better place to start your stay in Budapest.
Nice hotel in good location but a bit old”
- 1 free access to thermal bath and 50% discount afterwards
- really good breakfast with Danube view
- next to metro / tram
- old hotel. I saw a bug on the floor
- I got room on 5 floor which elevator is up only 4th floor. So need to climb a bit
Hotel with charm and soul.”
Beautifull hotel with perfect location.
The adjecent Gellert Spa is a very nice experience.