Book Now: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

2016

The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Reviews

Excellent
From 167 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (167)Booking.com Reviews (3026)
8.1
Excellent
From 167 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.6
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.1
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Standard
1 Bedroom
King Room
Traditional Double Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 114 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
ssuhan from Singapore
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
location ”
very central location to city
Reviewed December 04, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Mr. from Thailand
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Mr. ”
Very nice
Reviewed December 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Lyndy from United States
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Fantastic Stay”
Perfect location, friendly staff, & the best views! Best stay in san francisco
Reviewed November 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Pornteera from Thailand
Family with teens
Tower Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Location ”
Great location and service
Reviewed November 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Wing from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 5 nights in September 2016
Fantastic stay”
Highly recommended! Great location for the best convenience! Nice people nice interior
Reviewed October 14, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Susana from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Great place in the heart of Union Square”
Stores just around the corner. Big park to relax just across the hotel. Starbucks coffee in the room as compliment. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Will definitely stay here another time.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Susana from Indonesia
Couple
Tower Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Great Stay”
Right in the center of Union Square, a very good place to stay. The room is quite big, the staff is super friendly and they give starbucks coffee as a compliment in your room. There's a lot of stores around the block within walking distance.
Reviewed August 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Susana from Indonesia
Business traveler
Tower Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Stategic location”
Right in the center of Union Square, it is the busiest hotel in this area. Just across the hotel you can find a big park and a hop on hop off bus tour. Left and right full on shops, Macy's and Walgreens just around the block. Clean room, large bed, and the staff is super nice. Too bad they charges wifi in the room, unless you are a member of the chain hotel.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jonathan from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Traditional King Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Top Hotel”
Great stay highly recommended.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
4.0
niphansa from Thailand
Family with teens
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
good”
good
Reviewed January 11, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Ratchanokporn from Thailand
Group
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
The hotel is located in the city center.”
Location , Big room , Good service
Staffs were polited. The room was very big. Too many shop around the hotel.
Reviewed September 09, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
AL from Malaysia
Group
Tower Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Location”
Convenient, clean, central
Centrally located
Reviewed August 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
John from United States
Solo traveler
Traditional Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
great hotel”
location, location! also, good food, nice bar
great. great and very helpful staff. my room was a little dark, that was the only downside, but everything was very comfortable and good.
Reviewed June 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Yan from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Good hotel, good sized rooms, good location”
Good hotel, good sized rooms, good location
Pleasant stay
Reviewed May 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
LE from Vietnam
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Good”
Good
Good
Reviewed April 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
LE from Vietnam
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Good hotel”
Cleaness
Good stay
Reviewed April 21, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Victor from Indonesia
Couple
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
ONE NIGHT EXTENDED STAY”
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION and THE ROOM also the VIEW
At first we're pleased with the service at the front desk, we choose this hotel because again it's location location and location just in the center of union square, the room was clean and nice, since we just stay less than 4hours to catch our next flight, i can't say much but love it. eventhough the WiFi is bad
Reviewed January 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Rusdi from Indonesia
Couple
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Nice”
Clean, professional staff, good location
Nice and awesome
Reviewed November 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
CHAMINDA from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Tower Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Nice Hotel”
Location, Hotel Service
Good place to stay business travelers.
Reviewed November 23, 2014
6.7
Good
Long from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014
Good location but room is very old & smelly ”
1.Location
room is too old & smelly
Reviewed September 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Bunardi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 5 nights in September 2014
Best Location at Union Square”
Best Location
Reviewed September 15, 2014
4.0
Timothy from Indonesia
Business traveler
Tower Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
lousy oled hotel, not worth for the money”
not at all
don't park at this hotel either....thou, the parking staff are the nicest people that serves compares to the receptionist and hotel phone operators.
Reviewed September 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from Malaysia
Couple
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 5 nights in April 2014
Westin. What else can you ask for?”
Location. Service. Flexibility.
Good: Location, friendly service, flexible arrangements. Bad: WIFI signal not very strong.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
6.3
Good
Sutandy from Indonesia
Family with teens
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
great location”
location, parking space, starbucks at the lobby
location was great, walkig distance to shops.
Reviewed August 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
In the heart of San Francisco, across Union Square”
Location, neighborhood restaurant, cablecar access
Westin St. Francis – great location in the heart of downtown San Francisco, across from Union Square. Lots of good restaurant/bars in the area. Shopping galore. Hop on the cablecar right in front the hotel.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Pathama from Thailand
Family with teens
Tower Double
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Great location !!”
Location , Fast elevator and in room Starbucks brew
- Great location - We got problem from housekeeping since they did not provide amenities on the second and third day and they never picked up the phone so we had to come down to lobby and asked concierge to assist. - Also the housekeeping did not clean ice bucket of the previous guests ...These should not happen with The Westin at all.
Reviewed July 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
HOOI from Malaysia
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Great location, good service, top notch hotel.”
Great location, good service, top notch hotel.
Reviewed July 22, 2014
4.7
Sandie from Philippines
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
The hotel was far from what it was during the 80s.”
Location location location and thats about it. Not worth what you pay. Far from how ot was in the 70s 80scor even 90s. Lobby is awful not elegant like it was. Staff incompetent. No robes or slippers.
Awful. Lousy service. Not worth ehat you pay. Not a 5 star hotel. Rooms dnt have the robes slippers they used to have. They dnt even give you shower caps.
Reviewed June 16, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Tiffany from Singapore
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great hotel in the middle of shopping district”
spacious, comfortable, centrally located
A great hotel if you want to stay in downtown bay area. It is surrounded by many shopping and food option. Very safe since this is right in the middle.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
6.3
Good
Joseph from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Terrible wifi facility in the room”
Good location, near shopping centres.
We had paid for two days to use wifi in the room. This was terrible. Sometimes it worked, but sometime it didn't. Even if it worked, the speed was very slow. We reported but no action was taken to address it. It was a waste of money.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Natalie from United States
Group
Traditional Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Great hotel and service”
cleanliness, location, staff
I stayed here with a couple of girlfriends the night before my wedding. The staff was very accommodating and were quick to bring us anything we needed. The room was clean and well-appointed and the hotel is in a great location - right on Union Square. Parking's expensive, but it is San Francisco... Would stay here again!
Reviewed May 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
ai from Taiwan
Family with young children
Tower Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Central located, easy to move with our young kids ”
Location Security Shopping and restaurant
Very good, but the parking fee us$53/ per day is a bit expensive
Reviewed May 05, 2014
7.3
Very good
MARY from Canada
Family with teens
Tower Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Centrally located hotel in upscale neighborhood”
good location, big rooms and attentive housekeeping staff
Our stay would have been perfect in this hotel except for one very annoying and insulting staff at the concierge desk named Ms. Christy. The hotel is centrally located and the rooms are big and spacious. Concierge men like Jeff and Anthony were polite, well-mannered and very informative. Ms. Christy on the other hand was rude and obnoxious. She rudely asked me to return to line when I mistaken stood too close to hotel guest before me. When I was up next, she entertained a query on side from a Caucasian guest who was not on line. So discriminating and unprofessional. The Westin is a respected and well known hotel chain all over the world. This was the only time, I questioned myself if it was worth paying this price for a hotel room to be insulted by a concierge staff simply based on my skin tone. This happened before lunch on April 17/18, 2014. To avoid this unpleasant experience, your manager should remind the staff to be "hospitable" to all guests regardless of color or race. This behavior is very UN-WESTIN. If the staff is unable to comply, then she has no business to be in this industry.
Reviewed May 02, 2014
6.7
Good
Edward from Australia
Business traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Not too bad but there are better hotels in SF.”
Centrally located, cafe/bar on the ground floor was nice and the Wifi worked fine.
As mentioned in the title, The Westin St Francis was not that bad overall, but I wouldn't bother again with the older "landmark" building, as there are much better hotels in San Francisco including the Westin on Market St. If I'd stayed in the tower I may have had a completely different experience. The room was a broom closet, although in good order, it's probably the smallest hotel room I've had in the US and there was no view at all out the window, it was not worth the price. I was also not thrilled to have to queue for 10 minutes to check in when I arrived after a 12 hour flight, there were about 15 people waiting and 2 staff at the front desk.
Reviewed April 07, 2014
7.7
Very good
yolanda from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Prime location vintage hotel with comfort room ”
Its location
Reviewed March 22, 2014
8.3
Excellent
yvonne from Taiwan
Business traveler
Traditional Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Luxury and comfortable.”
Big space. In shopping area. Very comfortable bed.
Reviewed March 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
yulan from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Fair value with excellent location”
location, friendly staff, newer room
Overall, it's comfortable. But I put note that I have one year old kid and request something suitable for the kid, nothing was provided.
Reviewed February 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Eng from Malaysia
Family with teens
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Amazing hotel with central location”
central, Friendly and modern
Great location for shopping and sight seeing. Friendly staff and approachable
Reviewed January 23, 2014
7.0
Very good
Tatagraha from Indonesia
Couple
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Pleasant but nothing special”
Centrally located, close to restaurants and shopping, comfortable bed
Good location, but staff was not too friendly. Very crowded and loud on weekends. but good value for money to shop and eat in downtown area.
Reviewed January 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Ernst from Netherlands
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013
First class hotel in a prime location”
Excellent location for downtown shopping and dining
Large comfortable rooms, although due for some makeover. Fantastic city view if you're on a high floor.
Reviewed June 30, 2013
8.7
Excellent
CHEN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Classic Queen Landmark Building
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Nice hotel with great location”
Great location, clean room with cozy beds
Reviewed June 24, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Taiwan
Family with teens
King Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Amazing”
Wonderful Fabulous Excellent
Nearby union square and 5 mins walk to the shopping area. Ease to access any attractions in bay area.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Taiwan
Family with teens
Traditional Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Awesome”
Convenient Clean Excellent
Wonderful and Convenient. 1 mins walk to Union Square and 5 mins to shopping street.
Reviewed June 04, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Laura from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great hotel, fantastic location”
Location, staf and rooms
Reviewed May 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Laura from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Great hotel in fabulous location”
location, breakfast and excellent staff
Reviewed May 28, 2013
8.7
Excellent
sanne from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Superb location, great room”
Location, comfortable and clean quite large rooms, superb staff at door and reception desk
We couldn't have a better hotel for a weekend in the city with friends. The hotel is located on Union square, so incredibly central and within walking distance from shopping area's, parks, famous buildings, china town, financial district, market street, etc. Perfect.
Reviewed May 22, 2013
7.7
Very good
TRISNO from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
good”
center of activities
Reviewed April 29, 2013
7.3
Very good
Andy from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Nice gran old hotel in the city”
Nice location, majestic historical, friendly staff
We had a good time there, we were originally placed in an the old wing, where the room was tiny and very old. the plumbing and AC had issues, and we requested for a change of room, we were then upgraded to the new wing which was 10 time better.
Reviewed April 26, 2013
6.0
Chi from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in March 2013
Good to stay”
Nice,clean and close to city for shopping
Reviewed March 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Tan from Australia
Family with young children
Tower Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Good location but expensive. ”
Great location, large room as requested, great view from elevator but only from floor 20 and above
Good and helped by Joy at front desk to upgrade to a better room. Paid for deluxe king tower room which guaranteed a floor between 17-21. We were given the minimum ie floor 17 and view of building across the street called 'city view'! The bath was only half size ie a tub to hold water for a shower. Perhaps the better rooms were reserved for Starwood rewards customers. Many rooms similar rooms were still available in fact at halve the price we paid on Agoda but we had to pay to upgrade to a higher floor with a view.
Reviewed March 26, 2013